Bulldogs' senior guard joins list that includes 39 others across state

For all the trophies, championships, wins and notoriety that Tyler Smithpeters has helped bring to Harrisburg High School with the support of his teammates, the senior guard has now done something that no other Bulldog basketball player has done before.

Smithpeters, a 6-foot-4 guard has been named to the Mr. Basketball voting list for Illinois.

Smithpeters is one of 40 players nominated on the list. He joins the likes of Chicago Simeon Acadamey's Jabari Parker and Jaylon Tate, along with Oswego Miles Simelton and Simeon's Kendrick Nunn.

Smithpeters is averaging 17.5 points per game for Harrisburg, while handing out 5.5 assists per game and grabbing 5.0 rebounds a game.

"At first it was kind of hard to believe," Smithpeters said. "But yeah, it's nice to know that I am in that category."

Smithpeters agreed that he's in an elusive category, but at the same time, it's nice to know that his hard work and dedication is starting to be recognized.

"The hard work is paying off you could say. First it was winning the Super Sectional, now it's about winning the state championship. That's all that matters right now."

Smithpeters is still undecided on his college plans, but has said he has narrowed down his choices to around three schools.

Michael Dann can be reached at mdann@dailyregister. com Follow Michael Dann on Twitter @spydieshooter.

Mr. Basketball Nominees

Name School Year College
Jubril Adekoya Andrew Senior Valparaiso
Cliff Alexander Curie Junior Undecided
Ore Arogundade St. Viator Junior Undecided
Keita Bates-Diop Normal University Junior Ohio State
Sterling Brown Proviso East Senior SMU
Jared Brownbridge Waubonsie Valley Senior Santa Clara
Jalen Brunson Stevenson Sophomore Undecided
David Cohn York Senior Colorado St.
Kyle Davis Morgan Park Senior Dayton
Morris Dunnigan Joliet West Senior Vincennes
Alvin Ellis De La Salle Senior Minnesota
Michael Finke Champaign Centennial Junior Illinois
Billy Garrett Jr . Morgan Park Senior DePaul
Ethan Happ Rockridge Junior Wisconsin
Malcom Hill Belleville East Senior Illinois
Paris Lee Proviso East Senior Illinois State
Alex Majewski Brother Rice Senior Undecided
Elliott McGaughy Oswego Senior Undecided
L.J. McIntosh Marist Senior Texas-Pan American
Matt Money Notre Dame Senior Air Force
Ben Moore Bolingbrook Senior SMU
Jovan Mooring Hillcrest Senior Undecided
Deshawn Munson East St. Louis Senior Undecided
Malachi Nix Niles North Senior Undecided
Kendrick Nunn Simeon Senior llinois
Sean O'Brien Mundelein Senior S. Illinois
Sean O'Mara Benet Junior Undecided
Jahlil Okafor Young Junior Undecided
Jabari Parker Simeon Senior Duke
Quentin Payne St. Charles North Senior Loyola
Alec Peters Washington Senior Valparasio
Jabari Sandifer Neuqua Valley Senior W. Illinois
Miles Simelton Oswego Senior Undecided
Tyler Smithpeters Harrisburg Senior Undecided
Nathan Taphorn Pekin Senior Northwestern
Jaylon Tate Simeon Senior Illinois
Tyler Ullis Marian Catholic Junior Undecided
Lance Whitaker Bartlett Senior UIC
Paul White Young Junior Undecided
Milik Yarbrough Zion-Benton Junior Undecided