Geneseo Republic - Geneseo, IL
The University of Illinois Tri-County Extension office
Blog: College students learn about animal health
email print
About this blog
By Farm and Extension News
The University of Illinois Tri-County Extension office covering Livingston, Woodford and McLean counties.
Recent Posts
Dec. 30, 2014 10 a.m.
Dec. 25, 2014 10 a.m.
Dec. 23, 2014 10 a.m.
Dec. 18, 2014 10 a.m.
Dec. 16, 2014 10 a.m.
By Agriculture Future of America
April 25, 2013 2 p.m.

Agriculture Future of America welcomed 64 collegiate leaders to Kansas City, Mo., for the 2013 AFA Animal Institute, April 7-9.

Held in the heart of the Animal Health Corridor, this Institute introduced students to opportunities in the animal industry. Over the three days, students interacted with industry professionals through panel discussions and various tours. Students and industry professionals also came together the evening of Monday, April 8, to network over dinner and hear from National Cattlemen Beef Association's CEO, Forrest Roberts.

This year's group of AFA delegates represented 17 states and 18 colleges and universities. In addition to industry tours, student programming included professional development and industry-specific training.

The AFA Animal Institute was created to increase the profile of the animal industry with competitively-selected students from across the nation. It is an example of how AFA strives to close the gap between workforce needs and career preparation in the agriculture industry. Students will leave the Institute experience with better understanding of the animal industry and its environment and culture as well as a broader network of like-minded peers and professionals.

The 2013 AFA Animal Institute is made possible through the support of Merck Animal Health, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc., Cargill, Ceva and the many industry tour hosts.

2013 Tour Locations


American Angus Association

American Hereford Association

American Royal Association

Bayer Animal Health **

Blasdel Cleaver Schwalbe Communications

Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc. *

Cargill Animal Nutrition


Dairy Farmers of America **

Duff Dynamic Marketing/AgriThority LLC *

Elanco Animal Health

Farmland Foods**

Fleishman-Hillard *

Global Prairie

Hill's Pet Nutrition *

Land O'Lakes, Purina Animal Nutrition **

Livestock Marketing Association

Merck **

Nestle Purina **

Osborn Barr *

Triumph Foods

U.S. Premium Beef

United States Animal Health Association

*breakfast sponsor

**lunch sponsor

AFA Animal Institute Delegates

Jake Baker, Iowa State University

Mandy Brazil, California Polytechnic State University

Emily Brookshire, University of Missouri

Alex Bryant, Oklahoma State University

Thomas Buresh, Iowa State University

Marina Cable, The Ohio State University

Naomi Cooper, University of Illinois

Anne Cox, Iowa State University

Wes Davis, West Virginia University

Lance Day, University of Missouri

Brooke Doolittle, University of Missouri

Anna Drahos, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Tonja Egan, Iowa State University

Brittany Elliott, University of Missouri

Jacqueline Ervin, Oklahoma State University

Kaitlin Foley, Kansas State University

Kelli Fulkerson, South Dakota State University

Sage Henderson, Kansas State University

Sara Hoffman, University of Missouri

Marissa Horton, Cornell University

Shelby Huber, University of Missouri

Lauren Ibach, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Caroline Imhoff, Illinois State University

Andrea Jeffrey, Kansas State University

Jordan Jolley, Colorado State University

Amanda Jones, Cornell University

Caroline Kalebich, University of Illinois

Emily Knight, Cornell University

Elise Krause, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Jenna Lansing, Iowa State University

Emma Likens, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Amber Manning, Oklahoma State University

Jennifer McCown, Kansas State University

Nathan Merchen, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Alyssa Meyer, Iowa State University

William Miller, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Kersten Morgan, Cornell University

Connie Mou, Iowa State University

Katy Murfield, The Ohio State University

Stephanie Murphy, University of Missouri

Sarah Nafziger, The Pennsylvania State University

Ashley Nagele, University of Illinois

Erica Navis, University of Illinois

Lisa Niedermeyer, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Kathleen O'Brien, Michigan State University

Lindsay Parker, Iowa State University

Megan Pieters, Iowa State University

Austin Piombo, Colorado State University

Catherine Ripp, University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Celia Salmon, Michigan State University

Ana Schweer, South Dakota State University

Chelsie Shackelford, Kansas State University

Olivia Siglin, South Dakota State University

Benjamin Sims, College of the Ozarks

Danielle Smith, University of Arkansas

Luke Stark, Cornell University

Laura Sutter, University of Illinois

Alyssa Thomas, University of Missouri

Elaine VenJohn, Kansas State University

Rhianna Wallace, Kansas State University

Emily Webster, Michigan State University

Dale Weidner, University of Missouri

Sarah Wright, University of Illinois

Ashley Zelenka, Kansas State University

Recent Posts

    latest blogs

    • Community
    • National