Orion FFA students do well at Section 3 FFA Vo-Ag Fair

Mindy Carls
Orion High School

Orion FFA students competed at the annual Section 3 FFA Vo-Ag Fair.

The horse show took place Thursday, July 1, at Black Hawk College, Kewanee, with the help of Aaron Callahan and Drew Cotton, the equine science staff members at BHE.

On Friday, July 2, the Vo-Ag Fair was held at the Henry County fairgrounds, Cambridge, with help from Fair Board member Jake Young.

Plaques were awarded to grand champions. All participants received ribbons.

Judges were Dean Steck, beef and dairy; Doug Hankes,  swine; Rodney Main, mechanics/SAE; Allan VanDewoestyne, sheep and goats; Rebekah Irish, horses; Roxie DeShane, horticulture; Ron Van De Walle, rabbits; and Randal Shimmin, poultry.

Sponsors included Roxie and Dallas DeShane of Orion and Central Bank, Bengston Farms and Dr. Thomas and Rebecca Daniels of Geneseo.

From Cambridge, sponsors were Michlig Agri-Center, Henry County Farm Bureau, Gold Star FS, Dan Hoge and Hutchinson Electric (in memory of Jesse Hutchinson).

Also on the sponsor list were Galva FFA, River Valley Coop and Bob Evans Farms, all of Galva.

Other sponsors were Terwilliger Farms of Alexis, Birkey’s Farm Store of Annawan, Woodhull Coop Grain Co. and Stark County FFA of Toulon.

The twelve schools in Section 3 are Annawan, Alwood, Bureau Valley, Cambridge, Galva, Geneseo, Kewanee, Wethersfield, Orion, Princeton, Stark County and Sherrard.

Winners are listed with the schools they attend.


Grand champion, halter—Lauren Gentry, Geneseo.

Reserve champion, halter—Holly Guither, Bureau Valley.

Grand champion, speed events—Seth Ross, Bureau Valley.

Reserve champion, speed events—Cheyenne Miles, AlWood.

Champion, pleasure— Saman­tha Krieger, Bureau Valley.


Grand champion, ewe— Kodi Hammer, Wethersfield.

Reserve champion, ewe—Hammer.

Grand champion, ram—Hammer.

Reserve champion ram—Hammer.

Showmanship—Lauren Lyman, Geneseo.


Grand champion, Best of Show—Dana DeSutter, AlWood.

Reserve champion—Lyman.


Grand champion, female— Elizabeth Heaton, Stark County.

Reserve champion, female— Matt Johnson, Galva.

Grand champion, steer— Caleb Seys, Orion.

Reserve champion, steer— Seys.



Champion, crops—Jon Schroeder, Orion.

Reserve champion, crops— Schroeder.

Champion, floriculture—Johnson.

Reserve champion, floriculture—Johnson.

Champion, vegetables— John Fielding, Orion.

Reserve champion, vegetables—Johnson.

Champion, fruit—Fielding.

Reserve champion, fruit— Fielding.


Grand champion, gilt— Grant DeSplinter, Geneseo.

Reserve champion, gilt— David Larson, AlWood.

Grand champion, barrow— Bryce Walters, Bureau Valley.

Reserve champion, barrow—Tyson Schulte, Sherrard.

Showmanship—Jacob Steele, Geneseo.

Grand champion, pair— Walters.

Reserve champion, pair— Steele.


Grand champion, buck— Seth Ross, Bureau  Valley.

Reserve champion—Ross.


Best of Show—Lacey Jensen, Princeton.