CECO students put on 30th annual senior citizens banquet

Mindy Carls
Orion High School seniors in CECO (Cooperative Education Club of Orion) hosted senior citizens from the Orion school district at a dinner in their honor on Wednesday, March 11. Among the servers were Karli Morse and Devin Pettifer.

“Happy St. Patrick’s Day” was the theme of the 30th annual CECO senior citizens’ banquet on Wednesday, March 11, at Orion High School.

The Cooperative Education Club of Orion served fruit cup, ham, mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, pies, rolls, coffee and tea in the commons.

Club members are seniors enrolled in the high school’s on-the-job training program.

Ian Cooper served as head leprechaun. Jenna Nelson gave the greeting and Desiray Gulley the Irish blessing.

After the dinner, Orion resident Marty Martens conducted bingo games for the students and their guests.

Nelson gave the closing.

The publicity and reservations committee included Myles McAvoy, Eric Blackert, Casey Jones and Cody Smiley.

On the decorations committee were Nelson, Sami Mitton, Tori Matzen and Andrew Thornburg.

In charge of set-up were Blake Lieving, Brandon Larson, Zane Sandusky and Mitchel White.

Luke Musgrove arranged rides for senior citizens who needed them, and for delivery of meals to seniors unable to come to the high school.

Greeters included Kevin Gladkin and Cody Williams.

Handling coat check were Alyssa Ellison and Melissa Komadino.

Angela Schmedt oversaw menu and food preparation.

The serving committee consisted of Katie LaBelle, Chelsea Noe and Holly Lupinski. Dining room servers included Blayke Stiles, Lucas Grymonprez, Cooper and Danny Driskell.

The program and entertainment committee members were Bryan Arnett, Gulley and Breanna McKeag.

Karli Morse, Cody Warren and Devin Pettifer were responsible for cleaning up.

CECO officers for 2008-09 were Nelson, president; Cooper, vice president; Schmedt, second vice president; Matzen, secretary; Gulley, assistant secretary; LaBelle, treasurer; and Mitton, assistant treasurer.