'66 grid squad, Ryan Smith take places in GHS history

Doug Boock
Former Galva High School multi-sport athlete Ryan Smith, seen here during his playing days, will be inducted into the GHS Wall of Fame, tonight (Friday, Jan. 15).

The 1966 varsity football team and 1991 graduate Ryan Smith are slated to become the newest inductees into the Galva High School Wall of Fame, with induction ceremonies scheduled for tonight (Friday, Jan. 15).

The inductions will be held approximately 7 p.m., between the fresh-soph and varsity boys basketball games against Mercer County. A large crowd is expected. A reception will follow the game in the high school cafeteria.

Smith was a three-sport athlete who earned seven varsity letters. He was All-Western Illinois in football and basketball, and an honorable mention all-state honoree in basketball.

The football team earned its place in GHS history by recording an 8-1 record and being a tri-champion of the Blackhawk Conference.

Team members included seniors Jack Hawkins, J.B. Hopping, Dud Lee, Keith Luymes, Mike Nordstrom, Dan Schwartzkopf, Jerry Scott, Richard Talbot and Steve VanDeVelde; juniors Rodger Manning, Richard Rosander, George Cederberg, David Anderson, David Howerton, Chuck Nelson, Larry Johnson, Gail Wexell, Joe Kempin and David Moline; sophomores Michael Johnson and Steven Nelson; and freshmen Bob Lewin and Mike Tarleton.

Head coach was Joel Colbert. Assistant coaches were Donald Cender and Jim Paar.

The 1966 Galva High School varsity football team won eight of nine games and was tri-champion of the Blackhawk Conference, earning the team induction into the GHS Wall of Fame this Friday night. Members of the team included (front, from left) Dick Talbot, Michael Johnson, Jack Hawkins, Rodger Manning, J.B. Hopping, Mike Nordstrom, Mike Tarleton; (middle row, from left) Jerry Scott, Bob Lewin, Dan Schwartzkopf, Joe Kempin, Dud Lee, David Moline, Chuck Nelson; (back, from left) Larry Johnson, Steve VanDeVelde, Keith Luymes, Dick Rosander, Rod Atkinson, David Williams and David Howerton. George Cederberg, David Anderson, Gail Wexell and Steven Nelson were absent for the photo.