Three incumbents, two newcomers file for Galva School Board race

Mike Landis, Editor

Three incumbents and two newcomers will be vying for the four open seats on the Galva School Board in the April consolidated election.

Candidates filing for the school board race are John VanDeVelde, Megan Flowers, Michael Clucas, Jeffry Hawes and Whitney Sue Olson.

VanDeVelde, Clucas and Hawes currently sit on the board.

Laura Heinrich’s seat was also up for election, but she recently resigned from the board and was replaced by Terri Jo Todd. Todd did not file for the race.

The four seats are from the Congressional District (Galva Township). Candidates who are elected will fill four-year terms expiring in April 2023.

The consolidated election takes place April 2.