Maple City Fine Arts winners named

Staff Writer
Geneseo Republic
Maple City Fine Arts Exhibition winners include, front row, from left:?kathy nelson, Ellie DeMay and Paul Terpening. Back row, from left: Brian Murphy, Dan Spahn, Ron Pettit, Steve Hancock and James Dayton.

Members of the?Geneseo Art League hosted their annual Maple City Fine Arts Exhibition.

Winners were announced at a reception on May 1 at The Cellar. A total of 47 artists, including seven students, entered 125 art objects in the competition.

Melissa Hebert-Johnson, an assistant professor at Black Hawk College in Moline and the gallery director of ArtSpace, judged the contest.

Artwork will be on display through the end of May at The Cellar and at the Geneseo Art League Gallery.

Gallery hours are from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Wednesdays through Saturdays.

Winners include:

• Best of Show: Steve Hancock, Geneseo.

• Second Place: Todd Levetzow, Bettendorf, Iowa.

• Third Place: Dan Spahn, Moline.

• Roxie Aud Walter Memorial Award: Patricia Halverson, Eldridge, Iowa.

• Wataga-Martha Shanks Memorial Award: Marcia Fox, Wataga.

• De Graham Memorial Award: kathy nelson, Prophestown.

• Jean Sieben Memorial Award: Ron Pettit, Alpha.

• Photography Award: Brian Murphy, Silvis.

• 3-D Award: James Dayton, Colona.

• High School Student Artistic Excellence I Award: Ellie?DeMay, Geneseo.

• High School Student Artistic Excellence II Award: Reed Thompson, Geneseo.

• High School Student Artistic Excellence III Award: Jennifer Barks, Geneseo.

• Honorable Mention: Rosalie Black, Rock Island; Dick Carlson, Geneseo; James Dayton, Colona; and Paul Terpening, Geneseo.