Chamber President Jaquet recaps 2018, introduces 2019 officers and directors

Carol Townsend, For The Galva News
Galva Chamber of Commerce President Adam Jaquet presented the Citizen of Year and Friends of the Chamber honors at the annual meeting and awards dinner. Jaquet, left, presents Melissa Halsall, center, and Michelle Newman, right, Friend of the Chamber awards on behalf the Galva Freedom Fest .

In addition to handing out its Citizen of the Year and Friend of the Chamber awards, the Galva Chamber of Commerce held its annual meeting Saturday night at Kewanee Dunes.

Galva Chamber President Adam Jaquet welcomed those in attendance, and said, “We are here tonight to celebrate a few of the people who help make Galva a great community we are proud to call home."

The court from the Harvest Days Pageant, which is sponsored by the Chamber, was in attendance and introduced.

Jaquet also introduced the Galva Chamber of Commerce directors and officers.

n Adam Jaquet, president, from Eagle Enterprise Recycling.

n Stacy Hanks, secretary, from Community State Bank.

n Jake Anderson, treasurer, from State Bank of Toulon.

n Mike Yepsen from CSB Insurance.

n Mike Keup from Galva Family Dentistry

 The same directors will remain for the 2019 year.

It was approved Saturday night to amend the by-laws as there are two officers who have served three years in their offices. According to the by-laws, they could not serve another year in that office. The Chamber did not have anyone at this time to move into those roles, so it was amended to increase years a person may serve from three to four.

In the absence of treasurer Jake Anderson, Jaquet went over the treasurer's report.

The Chamber had a busy year, highlighted by the following events:

n The annual meeting and awards night in 2018 honoring Jordan Murray as Citizen of the Year, and Teresa and Donna Haga as Friends of the Chamber.

n The Easter Egg hunt in Wiley Park and breakfast at the newly-opened Feltner’s Fun Center Day Care in March. More than 200 children participated, and State Bank of Toulon provided the Golden Egg prizes in each age group.

n In the summer, 10 organizations hosted Dinner in the Park raising about $5,000 for their groups.

Delta on the Square and Crescent City Tap  were thanked for the use of their facilities when Dinner in the Park had to move inside.

Jaquet also thanked the Galva Public Works for putting up and taking down tables each week for the dinners.

n The Harvest Days Pageant was held in the fall, with Ana Gerard crowned queen.

n The Ol' Fashion Christmas celebration was held on its traditional date, the Saturday after Thanksgiving.

Jaquet said the day before 13 inches of snow blanketed Galva, the downtown was filled with Christmas cheer as Santa Claus greeted kids, horse- drawn carriage rides carried families through town, and crafts, gifts and sweets were plentiful.

n In 2018 the Galva Chamber welcomed three businesses that came to town or opened a new facility — Mersman Memories Photography, Feltner’s Fun Center Day Care and Nutrien Ag Solutions.

Jaquet added a ribbon cutting was held Saturday morning to welcome a new florist to Galva, the Enchanted Florist. The flower shop opened in November.

Galva Citizen of

the Year recipients

1967 — James B. Young

1968 — Milo Watson

1969 — C. Forrest Bailey

1970 — Roy Holding

1971 — Charles Whitney

1972 — Leo Windish

1973 — Sam Mendel

1974 — Dr. L.C. Burkey

1975 — R.M. Everett

1976 — Homer Pryor

1977 — Mary Lou Holding

1978 — Dr. C.J. Maginel

1979 — George Swank

1980 — Carolyn Ossian

1981 — Dr. Paul Schmidt

1982 — Chuck Hay

1983 — Leon Lewin

1984 — Frances Thompson

1985 — Galva Food Pantry

1986 — None

1987 — None

1988 — Marian Blust

1989 — Rev. Kenneth Starnes

1990 — William Heiwig

1991 — Ann Smith

1992 — Marilyn Wilson

1993 — Keith Carter

1994 — Warren Arter

1995 — Herb Rodgers

1996 — None

1997 — None

1998 — Rob Clark

1999 — Sherm Raley

2000 — Bob Miller

2001 — Pete VanDeVelde

2002 — Tim Foley

2003 — Emily Kneen

2004 — Galva Tutoring Center

2005 — Bev Everett

2006 — Denny Anderson

2007 — John Sloan

2008 — Sharon Murray

2009 — Duane Bell

2010 — Will Thomson

2011 — Bernie Cromien

2012 — Rip Everett

2013 — Nancy Ingels

2014 — Dwain Jacobson

2015 — Steve Bell

2016 — Scott Caravello

2017 — Teresa Byers

2018 — Jordan Murray

2019 — Jason Bates