Lake Calhoun ladies cap season by handing out honors

Staff Writer
Geneseo Republic
Winners of the Lake Calhoun Ladies Tournament were honored at the closing banquet Sept. 30. They were (from,left) Brenda Potter, Margo Luymes, Mary Cox, Pat Turner, Bonnie Schmidt and Brenda Dennison.

The new Lake Calhoun Clubhouse was the site of the closing banquet of the Lake Calhoun Ladies Golf League on Tuesday, Sept. 30. Awards for the summer were presented.

Bonnie Hoxworth had the lowest putt average of 16.94 and also the most chip-ins. Ardith Wittmeyer and Kate Cromien had the best attendance, missing only one round.

Handicap tournament winner was Bonnie Schmidt, with Brenda Dennison as runner-up. Club Championship tournament winners were Mary Cox, Championship flight; Margo Luymes, A flight; Pat Turner, B flight; and Brenda Potter, C flight.

The winning league team with the fewest strokes was Wyoming Motors, 3,516; second place, Galva Hair Co., 3,538; third place, Mary’s Family Dining, 3,641, and fourth, Gustafson Ford, 3,690.

In other business, the ladies group made a monetary donation to the Lake Calhoun board to be used to replace kitchen appliances lost in the fire. It was also voted to start the ladies league two weeks earlier in April next year.

Officers elected for 2009 were Margo Luymes, president; Linda Nelson, vice president; Regina Meaker, corresponding secretary; Joyce Baskovic, recording secretary; and Carol Ann Stephens, treasurer.

The Wyoming Motors team captured the Lake Calhoun Country Club Ladies Golf League this summer. Team members included (front, from left) Regina Meaker, Chris Catton and Vicki Hamilton; (back, from left) Crystal Simms, Ardith Wittmeyer, Martha Kitterman, Brenda Dennison and Carol Ann Stephens. The ladies league concluded its season with a banquet Sept. 30 in the new LCCC clubhouse.