Softball announces award winners

Staff Writer
Geneseo Republic
Special award winners include, in front from left, Kelly Hutton, Sportsmanship; and Jenna Nelson, varsity team’s Most Valuable Player; and in back, Ashlee Amador, sophomore team’s Most Valuable Player; Megan Blumenshein, Golden Glove; Hillary Taets, Best Batting Average; Maddie DePorter, Most Improved; and Caitlin D’Hondt, Team Ball.

Awards: Most Valuable Player—Jenna Nelson.

Best Batting Average—Hillary Taets (.500, 38-for-76).

Golden Glove—Megan Blumenshein.

Most Improved—Maddie DePorter.

Sportsmanship—Kelly Hutton.

Team Ball (exemplifying qualities sought in team player)—Caitlin D’Hondt.

Varsity letterwinners: Alyssa Ellison, Tori Matzen, Nelson, Sami Mitton, Caitlin D’Hondt, Blumenshein, Taets, Jena Malmen, Hutton, DePorter, Kylee Peterson.

Season highlights: Riverdale Tournament champions, Orion regional champions.

Records: 19-9 overall, 8-4?Olympic Conference. 


Coach Jill Filler

Awards: Most Valuable Player—Ashlee Amador.

Most Improved—Danielle McWilliams.

Team Ball—Samantha Nimrick.

Sophomore letterwinners: Taylor Larson, Nimrick, Niki Cook, Grace Leuck, Holly Wells, Amy Fisher, Amador, Emily McVietty, Paige Diamond, Betsy Beemblossom, Kaila Lange, McWilliams.

Freshman numerals: McWilliams.

Records: 14-4 overall, 7-3?Olympic Conference.