Ridgewood cross country holds postseason banquet

Staff Writer
Geneseo Republic
Twelve Ridgewood cross country runners earned awards during the group's year-end banquet Thursday, Nov. 1, at AlWood High School. They are, from left, James Brooks, Dylan Brooks, Kendall McKie and Faith Gates and back row, Kyle Ford, Anthoney Brown, Jason Beam, John DeSutter, Jonathan Walsten, Katie Stevenson and Kallie Esp. Madison Miller also earned an award, but was absent from the photo.

Ridgewood cross country runners were honored at a year-end banquet Thursday, Nov. 1, at AlWood High School.

"It was a special year," said assistant coach Karen Clark. "Not only because of all their achievements, but because they worked so well with each other and this led to their competitiveness."

Senior runner Jonathan Walsten was recognized for finishing in the top ten at the Lincoln Trail Conference Meet. He earned All Conference Honors.

Marissa Underwood and Callie Esp earned junior varsity letters.

Varsity letters went to Emily McDowell, Faith Gates, Kendall McKie, Katie Stevenson, Madison Miller, Walsten, James Brooks, R. J. Dearmore, Chris Bowles, Dylan Brooks, Jason Beam, Tristen Pretty, John DeSutter, Tristan Akers, Anthoney Brown, Kyle Ford and Daniel Urbina.

Awards were presented to various runners.

Rookie of the Year awards went to Esp, Brown and Beam.

Most improved awards went to Gates and DeSutter.

Most reliable awards were given to Miller and Dylan Brooks.

Most valuable awards went to Stevenson and Walsten.

Earning spirit awards were McKie and James Brooks.

Kyle Ford earned the coach's award.