Lady Leafs' XC shows growth at Detweiller

Chris Steele
Lauren Belvel runs for the Lady Leafs at the First to the Finish competition at Detweiller Park in Peoria.

The Lady Leafs’ Josie Brown earned a medal at the elite First to the Finish Invite at Detweiller Park in Peoria on Sept. 9.

Brown finished 24th in 18:41, and Geneseo finished 14th as a team among a 56-team Class 2A field.

Facing off against six of the top seven teams ranked in the state, the Lady Leafs’ cross country team showed how far they had come after finishing 25th at the competition last year.

Geneseo’s Lauren Belvel crossed the finish line in 87th place in 19:50, and Anna Girten finished in 118th place in 20:08.

The Lady Leafs’ Claire Hall came in 152nd place in 20:35, and Julia Poel finished 170th in 20:51.

Geneseo’s Megan Soria ran down 199th place in 21:11, and Veronica Eilers rounded out the varsity runners in 227th place in 21:25.

In the open competition, Geneseo finished 19th among 48 teams.

The Lady Leafs’ Anna Pierce led the way for Geneseo with a 76th place finish in 21:16.

Geneseo’s Emma Terronez finished in 22:29, and Avery Magerkurth finished in a time of 22:30.

Rebekah Beard raced to a time of 23:46, and Clare Legrand finished in 23:52.

The Leafs’ Morgan Laxton finished in 24:30, and Joci Hasson rounded out the top seven in the open race in 24:52.

The Leafs will host the Geneseo Invite at Richmond Hill on Saturday, Sept. 16 with the freshmen race beginning at 9 a.m.

Following the races, the Lady Leafs’ seniors will sign team posters.

Lady Leafs want to Pack the Park, on Sept. 16

The Geneseo girls’ cross country team want to Pack the Park at Richmond Hill on Saturday, Sept. 16 starting at 9 a.m. It will be the final home meet for the Geneseo seniors, and the Lady Leafs will sign autographs after the races. Pictured are, first row, from left: Adia Raya, Megan Soria, Anna Pierce, Tricia Elden and Diana Scherer. Second row, from left: Claire Hall, Ellie Whiteman, Avery Magerkurth, Emma Terronez, Veronica Eilers, Brandi Gatter, Julia Poel, Joci Hasson, Ashton Woulf and Clare LeGrand. Third row, from left: Emma Heller, Lauren Belvel, Josie Brown, Rebekah Beard, Morgan Laxton, Anna Girten and Zoey Gomez.