Maple Leafs tennis going for a NIB 12 Fantastic Four-peat

Chris Steele
Avery Dunker hits a return during a Geneseo dual meet last season.

On the tennis court, finding the right plan of attack is a big key to victory.

Seeing how things fit together will be an ongoing process for Maple Leafs’ Coach Kevin Reed this season.

Geneseo will be without a state qualifier returning this season after losing its top doubles team of Ben Rowley and Trace Johnson to graduation.

However, Geneseo returns a majority of its varsity lineup from a year ago as they seek a fourth consecutive Northern Illinois Big 12 Conference title.

Last season’s No. 2 doubles team of AJ Miller and Will Chaney return ready to take the next step, and the Leafs’ top singles player Avery Dunker will be ready to roll again.

The Maple Leafs’ Ethan Pullman and Mick Haverland are another doubles duo

looking to take a step up, and Geneseo’s team of Brandon Gallagher and Dylan Hart won the NIB 12 No. 2 doubles title at the frosh/soph tournament.

Reed thinks the Maple Leafs’ core of players with doubles experience will be a major key to them winning a fourth consecutive NIB 12 crown.

“I have told the guys we are going to put you with a partner and see how you do,” Reed said. “Then we can start changing some things. Then the next week, we can change things again and figure things out as we go.”

Ben Ford is another player who distinguished himself at the JV level last season, and Reed said the team has several seniors ready to step up if given the opportunity.

While Geneseo is returning a majority of its varsity lineup, Ottawa, Yorkville and LaSalle-Peru have a majority of their varsity lineup back as well.

The Maple Leafs will face another wrinkle with a two class system being implemented into the postseason starting this year.

Reed isn’t sure what the change will mean for the Maple Leafs, but the Lady Leafs had an even more challenging path than previous years in the new system.

On the girls’ side, Geneseo ran into players from Alleman who finish third as a team at the state tournament last fall.

2017 Geneseo tennis roster


Christos Andrios

Will Chaney

Bryan Dellett

Tristan DeSplinter

Avery Dunker

Dylan Hodge

AJ Miller

Adam Neuwohner

Ethan Pullman

Logan Ricketts

Logan Stein

Dylan Vavrosky

Alex Williams

Josh Yoder


Reed Adams

Nathan Curran

Ben Ford

Brandon Gallagher

Dylan Hart

Mick Haverland

Scott Miller

Jack Roberts

Patrick Turpin


Elijah Anzaldua-Maas

Josh Beeth

Luke Chaney

Blake Laingen

Griffin Tracey


Danny Ford

Dillon Goethals

Timothy Lehman

Ryan Morgan

Hayes Murphy

Kyle State

Carter Stephenson

Caleb Swearingen

Noah Thompson

Coach: Kevin Reed. Assistant coaches: Nate Fonck and Cody Miles.

2017 Geneseo tennis schedule

March 25    Geneseo at Rock Island Gold Invite    Rock Island HS    8:30 a.m.

March 28    Geneseo at Rock Island High School    Rock Island HS    4:30 p.m.

April 4    Geneseo at DeKalb HS    DeKalb HS    4:30 p.m.

April 5    United Township at Geneseo    Richmond Hill    4:30 p.m.

April 6    Geneseo at Ottawa    Ottawa HS    4:30 p.m.

April 11    Rochelle at Geneseo    Richmond Hill    4:30 p.m.

April 15    Geneseo at LaSalle-Peru F/S Invite    LP Sports Complex    8:30 a.m.

April 17    Geneseo at Galesburg    Galesburg HS    4:30 p.m.

April 19    Dixon High at Geneseo     Richmond Hill    4:30 p.m.

April 20    Morris at Geneseo    Richmond Hill    4:30 p.m.

April 22    Geneseo at Pleasant Valley Invitational    Pleasant Valley HS    9 a.m.

April 25    Geneseo at Sterling     Sterling HS    4:30 p.m.

April 27    Yorkville at Geneseo     Richmond Hill    4:30 p.m.

May 1    Geneseo at Princeton    Prather Field Courts    4:30 p.m.

May 5    Geneseo at Moline Invite    Moline High School    4 p.m.    

May 6    Geneseo at Moline Invite    Moline High School    8:30 a.m.

May 6    Geneseo at NIB 12 F/S Conference     at Rochelle HS     9 a.m.

May 9    Alleman at Geneseo    Richmond Hill    4:30 p.m.    

May 10    Geneseo at LaSalle-Peru     LP Sports Complex    4:30 p.m.

May 13    Geneseo at NIB 12 Conference    Rochlle HS    8 a.m.